David And Goliath

Yesterday I heard a version of David and Goliath that I’d never heard before. I’ve been a Christian for a long time but a few years ago we changed ‘flavors’ and it has exposed us to a whole different perspective.

What I had always been told is that we are supposed to be like David and have faith and fight Goliath, aka the giants, in our lives. The giants can be big problems or spiritual warfare. I also heard that Goliath had four brothers and that is why David picked up five stones but that is nowhere in the Bible.

How about this? Goliath represents Satan, God’s enemy. We really, if we are honest with ourselves, are more like the Israeli army than we are like David. David represents Jesus who has fought sin, death and Satan and won the battle for us. Goliath even fell on his face and lost his head, just as Dagon did in I Samuel 5:4. David used a Philistine sword, Isreal’s enemy’s own weapon, to take Goliath’s head off, just as Jesus used death, Satan’s own weapon to defeat him on the cross, as it says in Hebrews 2:14 “…that through death He might destroy him who had the power of death, that is, the devil….”

This view has a different effect on me than what I used to hear. I used to feel pumped and like, yeah, I’m going to believe God and go after _________ – you know, whatever. After hearing this sermon yesterday, I feel humbled and in awe of God and His wisdom and power and grace and love and mercy and…wow.

If you’d like to read it for yourself, it’s in the Old Testament in I Samuel the 17th chapter.

