How Do You Get an Oatmeal Hull Unstuck?

This was originally posted on MySpace with comments following; I’m putting it on here because it was just one of those crazy things that happen – a Lucy Moment:

This is crazy. At this very moment I have an oatmeal hull stuck to the side of my tongue. I can’t get it to come up or go down. It’s further back than my teeth. If there is a corner on the tongue it’s on the corner. I’ve been messing with this for about 45 minutes now and am missing church this morning because of it. My husband said, “You’re not going?” I told him I thought it would be distracting to the preacher to see me on the back row with my head over to one side and my tongue kind’a hanging out or with me bent over with my head between my knees. And what if I started to gag? Again. So, he gets to explain to folks that I’m at home trying to get the oatmeal hull unstuck.

I’ve managed to get it to move maybe a little but it’s never better. It tickles my Eustachian tube sometimes. Must be on a nerve. After I tried gargling, drinking water, eating bread, eating a couple bites of my boiled egg and drinking a couple sips of coffee…..oh, and bending over, and poking about with my finger which only gags me, and muscular gyrations of the throat that I didn’t know were possible, my husband asked if I wanted to go to the emergency room. Sure. Let’s go spend a few hundred dollars to get the oatmeal hull out of my head. I could be a chapter in the ER doc’s book, too. I’m sure I’ll be in the pastor’s book. You know, the Now I’ve Heard it All book.

Well, there probably aren’t enough digestive juices in my throat to finish this thing off any time soon. I’m tired of gagging. I’ve laughed so hard, I’ve cried but that didn’t help. Maybe I should Google “oatmeal hull tongue” and see if there is any help for this anywhere. Help……..please…..

Mandy:
what is an oatmeal hull?I would make a suggestion if only I knew what it was.

Me:
Well, maybe I should call it an oat hull. They grind up oats to make oatmeal and the hard part of the grain….uh, the husk, got mixed in with the good stuff and I swallowed it. Only partially. I always say you never know what’s going to happen when you get up in the morning……

<<<Then later after it came unstuck….after almost 4 hours>>>>>>

Me:

Hey! It’s unstuck!! I swallowed a few sips of coffee while looking up and it moved a little bit. Then I tried egg nog and it didn’t help. I gave up and was wetting my hair for the second time today so I can fix it and maybe look halfway decent and while I was bent over the sink I swallowed and the oat hull went down! Yipee

Anatomica:
Glad to hear that you finally swallowed it! I just took an anatomy test on head and neck anatomy, and I’ve surmised that you must’ve gotten it stuck in the space behind the tongue called the vallecula. There are actually two of them, one on each side; valleculae. The two muscles it got stuck in between were your hyoglossal and your mylohyoid, and there’s a nerve called the hypoglossal nerve that innervates all the muscles of the tongue (except one), which was being stimulated during the entire ordeal. That is certainly annoying, and quite unique. It would’ve been impossible for you to reach it on your own, so thankfully gravity worked its course. šŸ™‚

Me:
Good heavens!! I knew muscles were doing things they have never done before but I never thought about their names! I thought this whole thing was funny – although very annoying – but now I’m about to fall out of my chair laughing…..

 

Leave a Reply

