Thinking About the Neighbor

I had great consideration for my neighbor the other day. I was working in the garden and I wasn’t paying attention and I stepped in an ant bed. These ants didn’t just dive in when they hit the top of my sock. It was a stealth attack; the first one didn’t bite till it got all the way up to my elbow.

I knew I had to do the Ant Dance and quick! If you have ever lived in the South, you know the Ant Dance. If you haven’t, it’s done wherever the ants are–outside, but hopefully in a private place–and the pants come off and there is lots of jumping around and swatting at the body to remove the ants. It looks like the behavior of a person who is coming quite unglued.

I’m not too worried about how I look but I had to think of my neighbor. He’s a nice guy and I’m glad to have him for a neighbor. I didn’t want to traumatize him if he stepped out his back door and saw a 51 year old lady in her underwear and her socks with strawberries on them acting like a mad woman. That could have damaged his psyche and surely would have wrecked his eyesight for life. I wish he could have seen how fast an old lady can run into her house though.

So, ___ , you never know what awful experiences you have been spared.

