I’ve Just Discovered Wendell Berry

Yesterday I was reading in Modern Reformation magazine and came across a couple of quotes from Wendell Berry. He’s a “farmer/poet/novelist living in Kentucky.” He talks about how our food supply has been taken over by agribusiness; he calls it “food industrialists.” He talks about how a lot of our food is  processed and packaged and nutrition that was destroyed when the food was processed is added back but it’s not as nutritious as it was originally. It’s just more convenient. Then they beg us to eat their food which he says is all but pre-chewed for us and that is only because they haven’t figured out how to do that yet. Well, not in a way that makes a profit for them anyway. He also talks about how our eating is more like us going to a filling station and the disconnect between the land, the food and the purposes of meals and of our lives. I wanted to know more about him and would like to read some of his writing. So, I looked around for info on Wendell Berry and here are a couple of the more informative articles that I’ve found:

http://www.poetryfoundation.org/archive/poet.html?id=540

http://www.orionmagazine.org/index.php/articles/article/115/

The first is a review of several of his writings and the second is something really cool that he wrote.

OH…my dad gave me some green onions the other day that are sprouting in the bag! I better go stick them in some dirt!

