“Good Night. Have a Good Day.”

Last night I was talking with a friend on the phone who is a night owl. She asked if I am, too. I told her I used to be when I was young, but now it doesn’t matter much; I can sleep anywhere at any time.

I told her about one day when my husband and I were at the library. I was ready to go, but he was still looking at books or music or something, so I sat down on a couch to wait. I got sleepy waiting and closed my eyes and fell asleep. I was awakened by a lady who was pacing the floor a few feet in front of me. She was fussin’ and cussin’ at someone that she seemed to think was right next to her. Listening to her was like listening to a one-sided conversation. She saw me looking at her but I didn’t look eye to eye. I didn’t want to become the actual person who would take the place of her imaginary person. Anyway, I saw that the librarian at the desk nearby was exchanging looks with the librarian at the check out desk. Once I saw that they were going to do something about the situation, I didn’t wait to see what. I just closed my eyes and went back to sleep. When I woke up all was well.

This morning when I got up with my husband to fix his breakfast and lunch I could tell I wasn’t ready to stay awake for a whole day. As I was telling him “Good bye,” what came out of my mouth was, “Good night. Have a good day.” I just sort of laughed and set my tea kettle timer for about an hour, and after he left for work, I went back to sleep.

