Good Morning, Scarlet Tanager!

Our mulberry tree has been attracting a variety of birds this week! A few days ago I saw a rose-breasted grosbeak and yesterday my husband saw a red and yellow bird that he said looked like a tanager but the colors weren’t right for either the summer or the scarlet tanager. Those are the two we are likely to see – if we see one at all.

This morning when he was leaving for work my husband called me to the back door. There was a male scarlet tanager in the mulberry tree. I started watching and here is what I saw: cardinals, a wren or two, several chickadees, a male scarlet tanager, a male summer tanager, a female who was one or the other of those two tanagers (They are hard to tell apart for me – I’m not that good at this yet.), a red-bellied woodpecker, two male Baltimore Orioles and one female. I saw a few birds I couldn’t identify, and also saw the bird my husband described to me yesterday. It could have been an immature male summer tanager, or it could have been what my friend told me about, which is a cross between those two tanagers. Once when looking through binoculars, I could see a male scarlet tanager, a male Baltimore Oriole and the red-bellied woodpecker without even moving the binoculars. It was so stunning it was hard to believe I was really awake and aware. I also saw a black and white warbler (Only the second one I’ve ever seen!) in the trees at the edge of the woods behind the mulberry tree.

I haven’t given up on those I don’t recognize yet. Persistence pays off with learning about birds. Cornell Lab of Ornithology has a great site if you want to learn more or see photos of the birds I’ve named. Here is the link in case you would like to check it out: Your online guide to birds and birdwatching, All About Birds, Cornell Lab of Ornithology.

