Working in the Garden Yesterday

I am thrilled to say that I was able to go outside and work for a while yesterday without mosquitoes constantly swarming all over me. The recent cooler weather seems to have put a small dent in the population, if only for a day or so.

I’ve had a few pots of herbs that I need to put in the ground, but haven’t done it yet since I have been redoing my whole garden, including the herbs. I know it’s fall, but this is Southeast Texas, and some herbs do well here at this time of year. I have parsley, rosemary, sweet basil and oregano that I bought a few weeks ago. I also have my spearmint that I dug up so I can move it. I’ve been stuck with all of them dug up and all of the bricks that I had in place – just for looks because I like bricks – taken out of the garden. It’s just been a huge mess. Finally, now the old herb garden spot and the part where I’m expanding herbs into is all dug up and smoothed out. I put some vinegar on weeds near the very edge where I have concrete blocks. After I got that much done the mosquitoes found me. One flew into my mouth and I decided to do something else.

It was Saturday afternoon, and also the day after Veteran’s Day. The sales were on. I wasn’t interested in the sales. I figured that earlier in the day, the ladies in the part of town that has curbs and not ditches out front, went shopping and their men raked leaves. By afternoon, I should be able to find a truck load of bagged leaves in just a little bit of time. So, I got my son to help me. He’s young and tall and I’m old and short; he can lift big heavy bags and throw them in the back of the truck like they are nothing. I pointed at what I wanted and he tossed it in the truck.

It didn’t take long even though I got side-tracked. We saw a huge pile of stuff in front of a house that some men were remodeling. I need to learn how to ask in Spanish if it’s OK for me to go through the trash pile. The third man I asked spoke English and he said I could. I found a big mirror! It’s 34×38 and I can use it with a six-pane window frame that I picked up when I was curb-crawling a few weeks ago. Anyway, now I’m side-tracked from gardening, so back to the garden.

When we got home with the leaves, my son unloaded them (and the mirror) while I laid cardboard and newspaper on the ground around the satsuma tree. I wet it down really good then spread leaves on it. This will help the tree not to have to compete with grass for nutrients. Not only that, it will help to feed the tree as it all breaks down. Mulch means less grass to mow, which saves gas. I figure all that adds up to a good reason to mulch under the satsuma tree.

That is about all I got done. I quit when a mosquito flew into my nose. They are horrible today; it’s warm and raining, so here we go again. Next week I want to try out a natural mosquito repellent that I ran across in a magazine. It’s made from 1/3 cup of apple cider vinegar, 1/3 cup of witch hazel and 5 drops of citronella. If the mosquitoes will stay away from my skin, maybe they will stay out of my mouth and nose and I can get some work done. In the meantime, I’m enjoying looking out my back door at the progress I’ve made so far.

2 comments on “Working in the Garden Yesterday

  1. wxmouse says:

    Love gardening, but here the mosquitos have fur and tattoos that say “mother” on them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

