Learning How to Use a New Camera

Have you ever gotten a new camera, looked at it, and wondered, “How on earth am I ever going to learn how to use this thing?” I did. Got one for Christmas. If a gadget does more than two things, it’s going to be a learning experience for me. I have an idea though of how to go about it.

One of the first things I learned is if you get a new camera, go ahead and get some extra batteries because the ones that come with it won’t last long. That’s just how it is. I did a bit of reading and learned that Lithium batteries are really good, but they are really expensive. We like groceries, so I won’t be going that route. Alkaline batteries don’t last very long, and I’m not interested in buying batteries often and having to pile them up while waiting for a Recycle Day for stuff like that. The ones I settled on are Ni-MH (Nickle-metal hydride) and they are rechargeable. I got them because someone who seemed to know what they were writing about said they were the best of the three options and it made sense to me. I got my batteries yesterday, charged them overnight and put them in the camera today. So, that is the first step.

Next step will start tomorrow. I printed out the manual…oh, yeah. Print out the manual. They give you a little booklet with the camera, but the manual is online and you’re going to want that. I’m going to use my manual to learn how to use my camera.

When I was in high school, I took two years of photography classes. The first things we learned had to do with how to use the camera. There were lessons on focus, lighting, speed…all the things you need to understand about how the camera works. I’m going to have my first lesson tomorrow with my new camera. I have taken photos since I got it, I just want to learn all the ins and outs. I’ll work my way through the manual using it like a textbook, learning each thing by taking photos and using the feature described, one right after the other and reviewing as well. By the time I get to the end, I ought to know this camera backwards and forwards, and be able to do what I need to do automatically when the grandkids start doing something I want to capture, or there is a rare bird on one of my feeders. Like those two? – is that green bird a female? – painted buntings today.

That sounds pretty easy, doesn’t it? One lesson at a time, moving along at my own pace. I’m ready for tomorrow. If you have a new camera, don’t be intimidated by it. If I can do this, you can, too.

Leave a Reply

