I Like How Survivor Ended!

I think this was one of the most interesting seasons of Survivor ever. The personalities were fun to watch, from Colton who was a lightening rod with his selfish, manipulative and seemingly racist (says he’s not?) comments, to Kat, who was crushed when she was voted out by people she trusted and the way she handled it. Did you see that? She, at the young age of 22, told the folks on the jury that life is too short to stay angry, that we need to forgive and get on with life.

Initially, I thought Colton would be back on a new season as his mean ol’ self. After seeing his mother’s reaction to his behavior at the Reunion, I’m not so sure. If he comes back he may try to tone himself down a little. He had absolutely no consideration for anyone’s feelings but his own. I was torn between being fascinated by such callous behavior and wanting him to be gone, or shut up, because he was hurting people.

I’m glad the women got it together enough to get it down to three women at the end, although I’m not as sure as I was when Tarzan was still there that he would have been able to get enough votes to win if they kept him til the end.

I’m not sure I’ve ever seen a group of people on Survivor, who for the most part, had affection for each other despite their idiosyncrasies. It’s got to be hard to be in difficult circumstances with people who you don’t know, you are competing against, but yet, you need them and they need you. For them to see past things like Tarzan’s crotchety self, to his good side just rarely seems to happen on this show. It also doesn’t happen often that so many of the contestants realize that it’s a game and they are supposed to play it like poker. Finally, someone used that analogy that this is like a poker game. I’ve been thinking that for years and wondering why they get so mad when they are outplayed? That’s what is supposed to happen.

It was refreshing to see contestants have good things to say to and about each other at the end. I especially like how Tarzan (Greg Smith) and his wife Terri’s relationship was inspiring to Chelsea. She said she didn’t know love like theirs could exist, and I’m sure other folks felt the same way.

I also liked how it came down to the last three women who had an alliance from the beginning. I like that Kim stayed true to Sabrina and Chelsea, even though she felt like she was risking losing the game, and with that the money.

The next game will be in the Philippines. The only thing is, we have to wait until September!

Leave a Reply

