Problems in the US Food Supply

This is a first for me, folks. I have never posted anything like this where I ask readers to watch a video in order to learn something. I assume you are here to read, and maybe look at photos, but if you ever eat a bite of food in the United States, this concerns you.

Did you know that the US has the highest cancer rate in the world? Did you know that 9 out of 10 breast cancers are not caused by genes? Did you know that food allergies are rampant in the US, having doubled between 1997 and 2002? This little video very powerfully explains why we have these problems, along with others, in less than 20 minutes.

If you want more information, check out Food, Inc. Netflix has it in case you only want to rent it. One helpful and inspiring book and DVD set to help one get away from some of this is the Forks Over Knives book and DVD set. My doctor recommended the book when we were talking about nutrition recently. The DVD explains a lot about food and health; the book is mostly recipes. (We had the Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash last night and the Banana Ice Cream dessert and it was delicious!)

I think we can change the situation, and in the meantime, we can all eat more healthful foods. I’m even more inspired now. I hope you are, too.

Leave a comment